What is Tetrathlon?

Tetrathlon is a four-phase event (riding, running, swimming, and shooting) developed by Pony Club in Great Britain and is one of the disciplines contested at the biennial Pony Club Australia National Championships. It aims to provide participants with a challenging competition requiring sound practical horsemanship and general athletic ability. Thus, all-rounders should be encouraged to further their interest in riding and Pony Club, by combining riding with other activities.

There are international opportunities to represent Pony Club Australia in Tetrathlon and Tetrathlon provides a pathway leading into the Olympic sport of Modern Pentathlon.

In each phase competitors score points according to the standard of their performance. The points achieved for each phase are added together and the winner is the competitor with the highest score at the end of the event.


Equathon consists of three phases: Running, Riding and Swimming. It is the perfect introduction to Tetrathlon, for riders aged under 10 years, who cannot yet shoot.  Equathon competitors swim 50m, run 1000m and ride.

Pool Horses Wanted

Competition Results


State Tetrathlon

Latest News

Pony Club Sponsors

Social Media

Pony Club TV

See More on Our Official YouTube Channel

Pony Club Victoria

73-75 MACKIE ROAD, MULGRAVE 3170 | P: 03 8686 8925